How Long Does a DUI Stay on Your Driving Record?
How Long is a DUI on Your Driving Record in Florida?
You and your buddies were out to celebrate a job advancement, and you just had a few drinks. You were only slightly above the legal limit of 0.08 when you were pulled over by the police, though. As a result, you’ve been charged with a DUI, your driving privileges have been revoked, and your insurance premiums have gone up. What led to this?
You’re not alone if you recognize this scenario. FDLE records show that 32,177 people were arrested for DUI in Florida last year, or about 90 people every single day!
If you’ve been arrested for DUI, you’re probably wondering how long it will stay on your record.
In the state of Florida, a conviction for driving under the influence will remain on your criminal record for some time. It can’t be erased or sealed because of the legislation. It is possible, however, to plead guilty to a lesser reckless driving charge that can be wiped from the record with the help of an experienced DUI defense attorney. The ability to enter a diversion program may be fought for by your lawyer if your local jurisdiction offers a diversion program.
If you meet the requirements and successfully complete the diversion program, the DUI charges against you will be dropped. In some cases, a post-conviction request may be able to overturn a Florida DUI conviction.
In order to keep your first DUI offense off your record, you need an experienced DUI defense attorney on your side.
Penalties for DUI in Florida
- First DUI Conviction
- 6 months license revocation
- 3 year license revocation if serious bodily injury occurred
- Hardship license eligibility
- Second DUI Conviction within 5 years of a Prior Conviction
- Up to 5 year license revocation
- No hardship license eligibility within first year
- Third DUI Conviction
- Within 10 years of second conviction – up to 10 years license revocation
- No hardship license eligibility for 2 years
Will my Driver’s License be Suspended?
Most of the time, a person’s license is automatically suspended by the Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles (DHSMV) if they are arrested for DUI (DHSMV). First-time offenders are subject to a 6-12 month admin suspension. If you refused a breath or chemical test, your license could be suspended for 18 months if you have a prior refusal.
You should consult with a DUI Defense lawyer before deciding whether to take advantage of your right to an administrative hearing.
On your first DUI offense, you can get a Business Purpose Only (BPO) license without having to request an administrative hearing.
Hire a Jacksonville DUI Defense Attorney Near Me
DUI charges in Jacksonville can have long-term repercussions on your driving record, your insurance rates, and other aspects of your life. At Lockett Law, we understand this. After a DUI arrest in Jacksonville or anywhere in Florida, we can help you preserve your future and your driving record. Please contact us immediately at (904) 447-8950, or fill out our secure online contact form, if you have been arrested for a DUI for the first time or for the second, third, or fourth time.
Page updated on May 20, 2022