DUI School: What’s that all about?
DUI school is a requirement for many who are arrested for DUI. Even if you avoid a criminal DUI conviction (in the criminal case), some may still need to complete the DUI school for the administrative suspension. The following persons will need to enroll in the DUI school. (The scenarios outlined in paragraphs a and b below pertain only to the separate civil administrative proceedings and not dealing with the criminal court case).
- Those who have no prior DUI’s and have elected to waive their right to a formal review hearing, as was laid out on the DMV Option Form you were provided.
- Those who do not fall under the category in (a) above and lost their DMV Formal Review Hearing.
- Those who prevailed at the DMV Formal Review hearing, but later were convicted of the DUI in the criminal case. At that point, the DUI school will be ordered as a condition of your probation.
To enroll in the DUI School, follow these steps:
- Take the following items with you to the NE Florida Safety Council, 1725 Art Museum Drive, Jacksonville, Florida (or the nearest one to where you live in Florida; 904-399-3119)
- A valid Photo ID or Passport
- Proof of Residency (i.e., a recent/current bill with your name and address);
- The complete arrest and booking report (to be provided to you by our office)
- Your DUI citation
- For those with Breath Cases, the Breath Test Affidavit (Or, in blood cases, the FDLE Lab report).
Registration wait times can be lengthy so you should plan on arriving at least one hour prior to their closing time, which is usually 3pm (M-F). Typical charges to enroll will be $350.00
The level of DUI School that you enroll in will depend on how many DUI’s you have had. For a first, you will only need the Level 1 School. For multiple DUIs, you will need the Advanced level course. The Level 1 course is typically 12 hours and spans over two to three days. Prior to the class portion of the DUI School, you will be asked to fill out a questionnaire. This is apart of the “evaluation” portion of the DUI School. It’s important to remember that the decision to require you to attend follow up counseling sessions will depend largely on this questionnaire. Some persons may not be required to attend any such sessions, while others may be required to have follow up sessions with a counselor. If you are required to attend the counseling, your DL will be cancelled if you fail to follow through even if you complete the school/class portion. The DUI statute (316.193(5)) requires you to pay reasonable costs for any post evaluation treatment. If you are required to complete DUI school as a condition of probation, failure to do so will result in possible arrest for a violation of probation proceeding. Some may be given directives to refrain from alcohol consumption for a period of time, even if not so ordered by the court.
Criminal Defense Lawyer in Jacksonville, Florida
For more information on DUI school enrollment and the requirements, visit https://nefsc.org/dui. If you or a loved one have been accused of Driving Under the Influence (DUI), our dui defense lawyers in Jacksonville are ready to defend your rights and fight for the best possible resolution. Contact us today to schedule your free consultation.