Consequences of Multiple DUI Convictions in Florida
While any DUI in the state of Florida is serious—first, second, third or subsequent—Florida has increased the penalties for each subsequent DUI conviction. Further, it is almost certain that you will face extremely aggressive prosecution on any DUI after your first conviction. Drivers who are involved in an auto collision while driving under the influence will face even harsher penalties, including incarcerations, licenses suspension and stiff fines.
If you receive a second Florida DUI conviction and your blood alcohol level is less than 0.15 percent, you could find yourself behind bars for up to nine months, you could pay fines between $1,000 and $2,000 and you could have your driver’s license suspended for up to five years (if your second conviction occurs within five years of your first DUI conviction).
If you are looking at your third DUI conviction (and your BAC was less than 0.15 percent) your fines could increase to a minimum of $2,000 and a maximum amount of $5,000. You could be behind bars for up to five years if you have a prior DUI within 10 years of a prior and the state elects to file it as a felony.
Regardless of whether or not the charges are filed as felonies, you will suffer a 10 year driver’s license suspension if convicted of a 3rd DUI w/in 10 years of a prior DUI conviction.If you are looking at your fourth DUI conviction, the penalties are extremely serious. You will face a minimum of $2,000 in fines, you could have your driver’s license suspended permanently, and you could spend up to five years in prison.
Any third DUI conviction with a BAC above a 0.15 will trigger a minimum $4,000 fine. You could also have your vehicle impounded and be required to have an ignition interlock placed on your vehicle for two years, at your expense.
Additional Things to Remember Following a Florida DUI
It is important to remember that you are not required to engage in field sobriety tests. You also have the option to refuse a breathalyzer, however your license will be suspended in ten days if you refuse. However, your license will also be suspended if you blow over the legal limit. They won’t tell you that. That’s why our company tag line is literally, “Know Before You Blow”.
As you can see, the penalties for multiple DUI convictions in the state of Florida can truly alter your life for a very long time. Because of this, it is extremely important that you speak to an experienced Florida DUI attorney as quickly as possible. A knowledgeable Florida DUI attorney can map out a strategy which will result in the best outcome possible. Because the state will be particularly tenacious, you need an attorney who can respond in kind.
Have You Been Charged with a DUI in Jacksonville?
At Lockett Law, our Jacksonville DUI defense attorneys are ready to fight for you. We can help you protect your future and your driving record after a DUI arrest. If this is your second or third DUI, it is important to know how serious these charges can be. We can help you fight second and third DUI arrests. Call us today at (904) 441-5107 or fill out our confidential contact form and someone will call you back immediately!