DUI Defense Attorney in Neptune Beach, FL
If you or a loved one has been arrested and charged with DUI in Neptune Beach, Florida, serious penalties, and consequences are all very real possibilities. Florida does not play around with Driving Under the Influence (DUI) charges and having an experienced DUI attorney to represent you is highly recommended.
Contact Lockett Law, P.A. to talk with one of our experienced and aggressive Neptune Beach DUI defense lawyers. All initial consultations are free and we look forward to discussing your case, how we can defend your rights, and pursuing the best possible outcome.
DUI Law in Florida
Based on Fla. Stat. . § 316.193, DUI is defined as an individual who is in control of a motor vehicle and having your faculties impaired by a blood alcohol level of 0.08 or even under the influence of drugs. Furthermore, if the individual charged with DUI is under the age of 21, they may not have a BAL over 0.02 and possession of alcohol by a minor is another crime in itself.
The penalties for a DUI increase the more instances an individual has with being charged. First-time DUI offenders will get the most leniency. However, once an individual is convicted of three-or-more DUI, further DUI charges are viewed as a felony DUI.
Penalties for DUI in Florida
As previously mentioned, Florida escalates penalties for each subsequent DUI an individual gets. Even for a first-time offense, jail is a real possibility when it comes to a DUI charge. Individuals convicted of a DUI will almost certainly have to pay fines and even lose their driving privileges for a certain amount of time. Penalties to be expected for DUI convictions include:
- up to 6 months in jail
- up to $1000 fine
- 180 suspension of driver’s license
- up to 9 months in jail
- fine of up to $2000
- 5 year driver license suspension (If the second offense is within 5 years of the previous offense)
- Up to 12 months in jail
- Up to $5000 in fines
- 10 ear driver’s license suspension (If third conviction is within 10 years of second conviction)
- up to 5 years in prison
- up to $5000 in fines
- Permanent suspension of driver’s license
Beyond these penalties, the consequences can be escalated if your BAC exceed 0.15, which is roughly double the legal limit in Florida of 0.08. If anyone is injured, or killed, in an accident while the driver is impaired, those are additional charges with very, very severe consequences. If you or a loved one is charged with driving under the influence, contact an experienced DUI defense lawyer in Neptune Beach, FL.
Administrative Penalties and License Suspension
Beyond the penalties involving fines and incarceration, there is an administrative component to a DUI case that must be very carefully navigated. Unfortunately, whether you are convicted or not, these penalties will apply simply by being charged with a DUI in Neptune Beach. In fact, anyone charged with a DUI will lose their driving privileges within 10 days of the arrest. One can also have their license suspended for up to 12-months solely for refusing to take the breathalyzer. It’s always best to KNOW BEFORE YOU BLOW.
If you are arrested for driving under the influence, an experienced DUI defense attorney can help you navigate these administrative processes. You have the right to request a formal hearing to dispute the suspension. Failure to request a formal hearing will result in a license suspension for 6 months.
Criminal and DUI Defense in Neptune Beach, FL
If you or a loved one are arrested and charged with driving under the influence, an experienced DUI defense lawyer can help you not only mitigate the situation, but ensure your rights are protected throughout the judicial and administrative processes that will ensue. Contact the experienced defense team at Lockett Law. P.A. today to schedule your free, initial consultation.