Amelia Island DUI Lawyer

DUI Defense Attorney in Amelia Island, FL

If you have been arrested and charged with DUI in Amelia Island, Florida, the threat of major consequences is very real. Florida does take Driving Under the Influence (DUI) charges lightly. Having an experienced DUI attorney to represent you is highly recommended.

Contact Lockett Law, P.A. to talk with one of our experienced and aggressive DUI defense lawyers. All initial consultations are free. We look forward to discussing your case and working with you to help build the best defense possible.


DUI Law in Florida

Based on Fla. Stat. . § 316.193, DUI is defined as an individual who is in control of a motor vehicle and having your faculties impaired by a blood alcohol level of 0.08 or even under the influence of drugs. Furthermore, if the individual charged with DUI is under the age of 21, they may not have a BAL over 0.02 and possession of alcohol by a minor is another crime in itself.

The penalties for a DUI increase the more instances an individual has with being charged. First-time DUI offenders will get the most leniency. However, once an individual is convicted of three-or-more DUI, further DUI charges are viewed as a felony DUI. Contact Lockett Law, P.A. today to schedule your initial consultation.


Penalties for Driving Under the Influence (DUI) in Florida

Florida uses an escalating scale as far as penalties for each subsequent DUI an individual gets. Even for a first-time offense, jail is a real possibility when it comes to a Driving Under the Influence (DUI) charge. Individuals convicted of a DUI will almost certainly have to pay fines and even lose their driving privileges for a certain amount of time. Penalties to be expected for DUI convictions include:

First-Offense Dui

  • up to 6 months in jail
  • up to $1000 fine
  • 180 suspension of driver’s license

Second-Offense DUI

  • up to 9 months in jail
  • fine of up to $2000
  • 5 year driver license suspension (If the second offense is within 5 years of the previous offense)

Third DUI

  • Up to 12 months in jail
  • Up to $5000 in fines
  • 10 ear driver’s license suspension (If third conviction is within 10 years of second conviction)

Fourth DUI

  • up to 5 years in prison
  • up to $5000 in fines
  • Permanent suspension of driver’s license


Beyond these penalties, the consequences can be escalated if your BAC exceed 0.15, which is roughly double the legal limit in Florida of 0.08. If anyone is injured, or killed, in an accident while the driver is impaired, those are additional charges with very, very severe consequences. If you or a loved one is charged with driving under the influence, contact an experienced DUI defense lawyer in Amelia Island, FL.

DUI and Drugs

While most people think of a night of libations when they think of a scenario ending with a DUI charge, however, if an individual is under the influence of drugs, they can also be charged with DUI. The issue of DUI under the influence of drugs certainly can complicate the defense as well. Often times, when an individual is arrested for driving under the influence of drugs near  Jacksonville, the prosecutor will likely also prosecute the individual for possession, in the event they are found to be in possession of drugs or a controlled substance. Many defendants who face a drug DUI may also get booked with felony drug possession, which raises the possible penalties quite a bit. Lockett Law is experienced when it comes to defending both drug possession charges and DUI. Contact an experienced criminal defense attorney in Amelia Island today.

DUI Manslaughter

In the most tragic of cases where an accident occurs, if there is a fatality and you are suspected of being impaired, you will be charged with DUI Manslaughter. DUI manslaughter is a very, very serious charge that requires the utmost expertise when crafting your defense and defending your rights. If convicted of DUI Manslaughter in Florida, this charge carries a minimum of 124.5 months in state prison. That is simply the minimum and getting lengthier sentences is not uncommon. Furthermore, if convicted of DUI Manslaughter, it is likely you will face a permanent suspension of your driver’s license. If you are involved in a fatal accident and accused of being impaired, you need to hire a DUI manslaughter lawyer as soon as possible. The legal consequences of a DUI Manslaughter charge can be life-altering and are very, very serious.

Administrative Penalties and License Suspension

Beyond  fines and incarceration, there is an administrative component to a DUI case that needs to be carefully navigated. Whether you are convicted or not, these penalties will apply by being charged with a DUI in Amelia Island. Anyone charged with a DUI in Florida will lose their driving privileges within 10 days of the arrest. Refusing a breathalyzer test can also result in a 12-month suspension of your driver’s license.

If you are arrested for DUI, an experienced DUI defense attorney can help you navigate these administrative processes. You have the right to request a formal hearing to dispute the suspension. If you do not request a formal hearing within 10 days, your license will be suspended for 6 months.


DUI Defense in Amelia Island, FL

If you are arrested and charged with driving under the influence, DUI Manslaughter, or any driving under the influence charge, an experienced DUI defense lawyer will be critical in formulating your defense. A qualified and experienced lawyer can help you not only mitigate the situation, but ensure your rights are protected throughout the judicial and administrative processes that will ensue. Contact the experienced defense team at Lockett Law. P.A. today to schedule your free, initial consultation.

Contact Us Today