Understanding Ignition Interlock Devices after a DUI
If you’ve been arrested and charged with DUI in the state of Florida, you will face serious penalties and consequences. If convicted, you will lose your driver’s license, pay hefty fines, and in some cases, you may be required to install an ignition interlock device on your vehicle. Ignition interlock devices are costly and can be frustrating for drivers. Yet, according to the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, ignition interlock devices or in-car breathalyzers reduce repeat DUI offenses by 70%.
Florida Statutes 316.193 outlines the requirements for ignition interlock devices (IID). It also mandates which individuals who have been convicted of driving under the influence are required to install IIDs on their vehicles. If you opt out of installing this device on your car, you may not be eligible for a hardship license.
Who is Required to Install an Ignition Interlock Device?
Florida law is specific when it comes to who is required to install an ignition interlock device on their vehicle.
- First DUI Conviction – only if court ordered
- First DUI Conviction with a minor in the car – at least 6 months
- First DUI Conviction if BAC is above 0.15 – at least 6 months
- Second Conviction – at least one year
- Second Conviction with a minor in the car – at least 2 years
- Second Conviction if BAC is 0.15 or greater – at least 2 years
- Third Conviction – at least 2 years
- Fourth Conviction – at least 5 years
How Do Ignition Interlock Devices Work?
Drivers with ignition interlock devices must take a breath test prior to starting their vehicles. While they’re driving, the device may also randomly require them to blow into the device. This is known as “rolling retests.” The device may also require drivers to blow into the device when they’ve arrive at their destination.
A record of these results is kept and a report of these can be downloaded and provided to law enforcement or the court if necessary. Tampering with the device or trying to cheat the device by having a sober friend blow into the device will land DUI drivers in hot water and may result in even harsher penalties and consequences.
The Cost of an Ignition Interlock Device
In addition to the embarrassment and hassle of being forced to have an ignition interlock device in your vehicle, these devices can be costly. The monthly lease for an ignition interlock device in Florida is between $90 and $150. This is in addition to the increase in car insurance premiums you will also face for being convicted of a DUI. The cost of the device includes service and monitoring, as well as calibration that is needed to keep the device running smoothly. Most devices will need to be serviced every 60 days and regular maintenance will need to be performed as well.
Have You Been Charged with a DUI in Jacksonville?
At Lockett Law, our Jacksonville DUI defense attorney Lee Lockett knows that you need a lawyer on your side after a DUI arrest. Without a lawyer, you could face serious penalties and consequences for DUI, including being required to install an ignition interlock device on your vehicle. To learn more or to begin fighting these serious charges, call us today at (904) 441-5107 or fill out our confidential contact form. We are experienced and dedicated DUI defense attorneys and we can help you no matter how serious the charges are against you. Call today!