blog-banner

Jacksonville Ranks Third in Florida Drunk Driving Fatalities

jacksonville drunk driving fatalities

Jacksonville Ranks Third in Florida Drunk Driving Fatalities

Jacksonville Ranks Third in Florida Drunk Driving Fatalities

A new study published by Lending Tree examined the cities in Florida where drivers were most likely to get into a fatal drunk driving accident. Jacksonville ranked third in the state for deadly DUI accidents, just behind Sarasota and Lakeland.

While DUI deaths were down 6% across the entire state of Florida, Jacksonville drivers are still getting into serious and fatal drunk driving accidents. In fact, there were over 138 drunk driving fatalities over the last three years, making it the highest number of absolute deaths in the state and 191% higher than other major cities. In fact, even Gainesville, home of the University of Florida, was 71% safer.

Drunk Driving Prosecuted Harshly in Jacksonville

Due to the higher incidences of drunk driving across the city, DUIs are prosecuted harshly here. If you are arrested and charged with DUI in Jacksonville, you face serious penalties and consequences, including the loss of your driver’s license for a minimum of six months or up to a year and fines up to $1000.

If your blood alcohol content (BAC) level was higher than 0.15 at the time of your arrest, you can face enhanced penalties including fines up to $2000 and up to nine months in jail. Additional penalties include the impoundment of your vehicle for up to 10 days, probation for a year, and mandatory 50 hours of community service.

Drunk Driving Prosecuted Harshly in Jacksonville

Even if you failed your field sobriety test or your breathalyzer test, there are ways your Jacksonville DUI defense lawyer could have the charges against you reduced or dropped altogether.

If this is your first offense, your lawyer may be able to have the charges against you reduced to reckless driving. This involves building a strong argument against the prosecution’s case and finding police errors during the arrest process. It also involves contacting an attorney immediately.

Within ten days you and your attorney must file an application for a Formal Review Hearing. This hearing allows you to legally challenge the suspension of your driver’s license. If you don’t file this application, your license will be suspended for at least six months. You will not be eligible to file for a hardship license until 30 days has passed, and only if you provide proof of enrollment in an approved alcohol abuse program.

At your Formal Review Hearing, your attorney will be able to present evidence and provide witnesses that can help your case. However, it is important to know that the burden of proof is simply whether the hearing officer has substantial evidence to believe that you were driving impaired. With an experienced Jacksonville DUI defense lawyer on your side, however, you may be able to win this hearing and get your driver’s license reinstated.

Do You Need a DUI Lawyer in ?

At Lockett Law, our Jacksonville DUI defense attorneys know that you need a lawyer no matter how minor you believe the DUI charges are against you. It is important to protect your driving record and safeguard your future ager a DUI. One mistake could prevent you from maintaining employment or obtaining custody of your children.

The consequences of even a first time DUI in Jacksonville are severe. If you’ve been arrested and charged with DUI in Jacksonville, call us today at (904) 667-0671 or fill out our confidential contact form

Additional Reading

Consequences of Multiple DUI Convictions

The Lesser Known Financial and Career Consequences of a DUI in Jacksonville